Tags

, ,

One of my favorite ice tea brands hit ground in the Netherlands about a year ago. I’m talking about AriZona Ice Tea. Launched in the US in 1992. I can almost hear you think: what’s so special about this ice tea? Well, almost everything. The philosopy, the taste AND the bottles! Take a look at this gorgeous package…doesn’t it look like it came right away from Japan?


AriZona beverages are made of 100% natural ingredients-no artificial flavors, colors or preservatives. They use real premium tea as the first ingredient. Some of the other ‘ice tea brands’ use a small amount of tea and then use additives and artificial coloring to make it look like tea. Aside from the noticeable taste difference, using real tea is the only way to get the ‘total tea’ experience – and all the health benefits that go with it. Also competitors of AriZona are adding EGCG (epigallocatechin). EGCG is a polyphenol found in green tea that allegedly helps the body burn fat. Studies have shown that adding EGCG alone will not deliver the same antioxidant power as premium tea and all of its components.

Enough about the philosopy and health….on to the flavors. I’ve tried all the flavors that are available in the Netherlands. My favorites are: the Original Green Tea with Honey, Pomegranate Green Tea and Blueberry White Tea. Besides these three, I found two other flavors in my local grosery store: Black Tea Peach and Black Tea Citron. They’re all worth trying, especially because the price is nice, 1 euro per bottle. I do have to say that that the Green Tea with Honey is a bit sweet. But that’s my personal opinion. If you’re curious about the nutritional facts: there’s 27 kcal (115 kJ) per 100 ml in the Green Tea with Honey.

I hope that all other AriZona products will show up here soon as well, because in the US they sell many other drinks like Diet Teas, Juice Blends, Coconut Water, Smoothies and Energy Drinks. Did you already try AriZona Ice Tea? Please let me know what your favorite flavor is!