Tags

, ,

French women don't get fat
Je ne sais pas….and I’m not talking about the French women, but about the book. Mireille Guiliano wrote ‘French women don’t get fat’ in 2005. It became a runaway bestseller around the world, hitting the top of the bestseller charts in many countries, including the USA, where it was number 1 on ‘The New York Times Bestseller’ list. And it has been translated into 37 languages. I clearly missed the hype. In her book she recommends bread, champagne, chocolate and romance as key ingredients to a balanced diet and lifestyle. My first reaction? This might work for some, but certainly not for me.

I bought this book 3 months ago. Before I flipped the first page I read two other (Dutch) ‘on-my-way-to-healthier-lifestyle-books’. And maybe that was in the wrong order. To the disadvantage of Mireille Guiliano. So let me start by saying what I do like about the book. The approach is completely different than most diet-books. This is one of the reasons the writer calls her book a non-diet book. There are no (calorie) tables, no charts and no ‘stop eating’ instructions. Hallelujah!🙂 She encourages you to eat. But eat well, eat slowly and choose quality over quantity. I like that! So yes chocolate is allowed, even champagne. But all in moderation. What a relief!

Okay, and now my criticism. Guiliano shares a secret recipe of French women; ‘Magical Leek Soup’, which is to be the only food consumed over an entire weekend. Hold on, what?! Come on, weekends are for fun, chocolate and champagne. And then there’s her ‘Magical Breakfast Cream’. It contains a mix of yogurt, lemon juice, flaxseed oil, ground walnuts, and ground cereals. Does it sounds yummy to you? Well, not to me. Yes, some people don’t trust anything they don’t know, but I gave it a shot….and yuk! Disgusting. Nothing magical if you ask me, unless it refers to how some people can stomach it. Okay, it is not all doom and gloom. Some of her recipes are great. Whole, natural foods prepared in a simple way. But I have to be honest, it’s not my favorite book.

Did you read the book? Or missed the hype as well? Please let me know what you think!

Happy weekend!