Tags

, , , ,

If you’re anything like me, you eat food on a regular basis. So rather than only talk about quinoa I will now reveal one of my most delicious breakfast recipes with this healthy grain of all time. Wow wow wow is all I can say about this recipe, which I stole from a Dutch ‘Health Food Guru’ named Amber Alberda. Althought….stole….I gave it my own twist. But feel free to steal my version!🙂 All you need is quinoa (evident), almond milk, blueberries and some mixed nuts – preferably pecans, but because I run out of pecans all the time I used a mix of macadamia, pecans and almonds. For 1 person you need about 75 g quinoa, 150 ml almond milk, a hand full of blueberries (or raspberries, what you prefer) and about 5-10 pecans.

Quinoa for breakfast ingredientsOkay, before you run the kitchen – I know you’re chomping at the bit – keep in mind you need about 20 minutes to prepare this and at least 15 to enjoy. So this is no typcial quick-quick-shower-dress-eat-run breakfast. That said, it’s as easy as lying. Start with washing the quinoa in cold water (easiest in a strainer). Then cook the quinoa in the almond milk and let it simmer for about 15 minutes. Stir and check every now and then until all the milk is absorbed. Put the quinoa in a bowl, sprinkle it with the blueberries and nuts and voila….you’re done!

Quinoa cooked in almond milk with blueberries and nuts

Some of you might think: almond milk? What the….? I know, it sounds a little lentil-eating hippie/bohemian like, but it’s super healthy and great for people with lactose intolerance. I’ve never tried it with normal or skimmed milk, but I’m afraid it doesn’t tastes just as good. I also like to conceal my portion underneath cinnamon powder, yummie. But because this is optional and (in my opinion) no valuable addition to the pictures, it’s entirely up to you. Amen, enjoy! And please leave your best ‘quinoa-for-breakfast-recipe’ or your version on this recipe in the comment box, so I can have a little more variation in the morning as well.🙂

Talk to you soon!